Mental Health

Gratitude in 2018

2018 in Hindsight

2018 has blessed me beyond measure. The big lesson this year was all about gratitude. I learned to be grateful for everything and every experience because it led me to this place and this moment.

I learned that the only thing I can control is me. Trying to control other people hasn’t worked, and it never will. It just made me anxious and frustrated. I’ve learned that rather than trying to make others do what I want them to, I can simply set boundaries to protect my peace and love them for exactly who they are.

2018 showed me that even in darkness, I have such supportive friends and family covering my life in prayers and positivity. I experienced some depression this year, and my community pulled me through.

I learned that even if you are doing your best, there are still people who are only there to tear you down. I learned that being careful who you trust is just smart business. Not everyone is on your team. Show gratitude for the lessons they teach you, but keep them at arm’s length.

I learned that relationships are not always easy peasy. They are hard work. It is work that requires a level of vulnerability, and it has always scared me. I love that I have been able to peel back layers to get down to the core of who I am.

I was reminded that God hears me when I call him. He answers prayers, and he loves me even in my flawed state. Even when I fail to live up to his glorious standard, God answers my cries, hears my prayers, and for that, I am grateful. 

I learned what panic attacks feel like and that I would rather not experience that ever again. I am so grateful for my little pup, who could tell there was something weird going on with me. She laid her head on my lap as I sobbed. It was beneficial.

I was reminded that words are powerful. They affect the way you think about yourself and the things around you. Showing gratitude is the best way to overcome negative energy and bad moods.

In 2018, I decided to move in love. I want to be good to people and be uplifting and a blessing. I want to show gratitude in everything I do and pour love onto folks who are looking for that.

So, as 2019 approaches and I am setting goals in the new year, I ask people to hold me accountable, help me stay humble, let me vent, and remind me that I can only control myself. I know I’m not alone on this, and I thank all of you for your impact on me this year.

Happy New Year

Tell me about your 2018 in the comments below

Leave a comment